Club presidents allow Selwyn to run Lae Rugby League following meeting


THE presidents of 10 clubs affiliated to Lae Rugby League on Friday resolved to let vice-president Neville Selwyn, in the interim, run the affairs of the country’s second largest league.
The resolution was a result of the directive from the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League board to Lae Rugby League to convene a special meeting.
The meeting of executives of affiliated clubs and stakeholders was chaired by Gwaibo Mairi, the director for PNGRFL Southern Confederate.
He was assisted by the PNGRFL financial accountant Helen Bula.
Mairi said there were five major leagues in the country – Port Moresby, Lae, Goroka, Mt Hagen and East New Britain – which made up the core playing centres in the country.
He said certain issues had affected Lae Rugby League and the meeting of stakeholders was held to see how best such issues could be resolved. The meeting agreed Selwyn, secretary Martin Surap, Northern Confederated development officer David Atua, Steve Malum and Dennis Miall would oversee the running of the league.
The meeting also acknowledged the decision by president Russ Kaupa who voluntarily stepped aside as he has a case pending in the courts.
The 10 clubs whose presidents attended the special meeting were Magani, East Spiders, Morobe Tigers, 14B Pirates, Ahi Warriors, Miles United, Royals, Rangers, Storms, and 13A Bulldogs.