Hunters call in Teme to replace injured Boas


JERRY Teme has been called into the Hunters starting side for Sunday’s Intrust Super Cup clash at Wynnum Manly after the scratching of five-eighth Ase Boas due to a chest complaint.
Hunters assistant coach Roderick Puname said yesterday that Boas had scans and was ruled out as a precautionary measure.
Puname said he would be relying on Teme, halves partner Nick Hasu and rake Woods Kawage to click in order for the Hunters to get some fluidity in attack, which was lacking against the third-placed Burleigh Bears last weekend.
“We really have to polish up in this area so that we have the firepower in attack,” Puname said.
“Our defence was good last weekend but we were poor in attack which cost us the game.
“We recalled Garry Lo, David Loko and Willie Minoga to provide experience, aggression and depth, which were missing in a lot of our games this season.
“We are relying on them to get the younger members of the squad up to a competitive and consistent level.
“We have nothing to lose heading towards the end of the season. Will be up against (former Hunter) Edene Gebbie who is doing really well for Wynnum Manly.
“They are second on the ladder and that’s not by mistake. They’re a really good side so we have to be at our best on the day.”
Meanwhile, Roy Ellison will start at fullback in place of Terry Wapi who was released to join the Rabaul Gurias for their Digicel Cup elimination final against the Hela Wigmen in Port Moresby on Sunday.
Brendon Gotuno starts at centre with Bland Abavu dropping out due to his TAFE examination on Friday.
Captain Moses Meninga starts at lock with Stanton Albert moving to prop.
Named on the extended bench are McKenzie Yei, Shane Haro, Smith Siviri and Adex Wera.
The final 18-man travelling team leave for Brisbane on Saturday.
Hunters: 1. Roy Ellison, 2. Junior Rau, 3. Brendon Nima, 4. Brendon Gotuno, 5. Garry Lo, 6. Jerry Teme, 7. Nick Hasu, 8. Enock Maki, 9. Woods Kawage, 10. Stanton Albert, 11. Kevin Appo, 12. David Loko, 13. Moses Meninga; Interchange –14. Sailas Gahuna, 15. McKenzie Yei, 16. Shane Haro, 17. Willie Minoga, 18. Smith Siviri, 19. Adex Wera, 20. Ase Boas.

Leave a Reply