Langer’s legends named


QUEENSLAND and Australian legend Allan Langer will field a Broncos side boasting the likes of Julian O’Neill, Scott Prince, Kevin Campion, PJ Marsh and former Kumul Neville Costigan in next Saturday’s legends clash with Papua New Guinea.
The National Football Stadium fixture will see coach Langer’s side taking on Michael Marum’s Kumuls legends (2pm kick-off) in the curtain-raiser to the Broncos women’s match against the Oil Search PNG Orchids (4pm kick-off).
Fifteen men have so far been named in the four-time NRL premiership winner’s side, with two more players expected to slot in the team later this week.
The Orchids and PNG legends sides are expected to be announced in the next few days.
Brisbane have named 22 women to travel to Port Moresby alongside their legends team next Friday, with assistant coaches and NRL greats Corey Parker (Broncos) and Simon Mannering (New Zealand Warriors) also expected to make the trip.
The vastly experienced pair, boasting almost 650 NRL games between them, will work with head coach Kelvin Wright as the Broncos aim up to defend their historic NRLW premiership.
Mannering, a backrower, played 301 games for the New Zealand Warriors from 2005 before retiring at the end of last season as that club’s most-capped player.
Former Broncos captain and 2006 NRL Premiership winner Parker played 347 games for Brisbane between 2001 and 2016 – behind only Darren Lockyer (355) – as well as 19 State of Origin games for Queensland and 13 Tests for Australia.
With the pair and the visiting teams expected to prove a hit with Port Moresby residents, the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League is urging fans to purchase their tickets early to avoid disappointment.
Tickets are available at Brian Bell (Boroko and Gordon outlets), J-Mart Erima, Coo Stuff (Waterfront) and online at, with prices ranging from K60 (grand stand), K40 (west wing), K30 (east stand) and K20 (south and north stands).
And are on sale now at Brian Bell outlets at Boroko and Gordons, J Mart at Erima, Cool Stuff at the Waterfront and.
Broncos legends: 1. Chris Walker, 2. Scott Minto, 3. David Stagg, 4. Shane Perry, 5. Paul Stephenson, 6. Julian O’Neill, 7. Scott Prince, 8. Ben Hannant, 9. PJ Marsh, 10. Petero Civoniceva, 11. Kevin Campion, 12. Neville Costigan, 13. Corey Parker, 14. Terry Matterson, 15. Darren Burns
Broncos women: Tarryn Aiken, Chelsea Baker, Heather Ballinger, Millie Boyle, Annette Brander, Ali Brigginshaw (captain), Jessika Elliston, Lavinia Gould, Tazmin Gray, Amber Hall, Steph Hancock, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Taylor Mapusua, Raecene McGregor, Rona Peters, Amber Pilley, Julia Robinson, Mariah Storch, Amy Turner, Tamika Upton, Rosemary Vaimili Toalepai, Meg Ward.