Members of parliament pay respect to former MP


Members of Parliament yesterday paid respect to former Goilala MP Camillo Esef, with a minute’s silence before proceedings.
Parliament started at 10.45am and Deputy Speaker Jeffrey Komal informed the house of the death of Esef on Monday. Esef was the Goilala open MP in the fifth parliament from 1992 to 1997.
Yesterday’s session, unlike the previous day, had a full session starting off with question time.
There was some excitement when Madang MP Bryan Kramer accused Komal of being impartial in his selection of MPs to ask their questions without notice.
Kramer raised a point of order earlier on when Minister for Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology Pila Niningi was responding to a question by Nawae MP Kenney Wenge.
Kramer stood up to ask the question but was rejected by Komal because of his comments.
Komal told Kramer to sit down because he had already disrespected the chair through his comments.
Ijivitari MP Richard Masere raised a point of order, requesting that Kramer apologise to the chair.
Kramer, who is known for stirring up the house, apologised.
The session continued with the passing of two bills introduced by Health Minister Sir Puka Temu.
The first was an Act to provide for the safe, secure use of nuclear energy and ironising radiation to regulate and control activities, practices and facilities in cancer treatment.
The second was for an Act to amend the National Institute of Standardand Industrial Technology Amendment Act 1993 to confer additional powers and functions.