Nine MPs join People’s Party, number rises to 12

Main Stories

NINE MPs have joined the People’s Party, taking its number to 12, as parliamentarians continue to move around in a changed political landscape.
The party had only one MP – party leader and Jiwaka Governor Dr William Tongamp – during the 2017 general election. This year, party founder and Enga Governor Sir Peter Ipatas rejoined after a stint with the People’s National Congress (PNC) party led by Peter O’Neill.
Following him back too was another former party member, Esa’ala MP Davis Steven.
The nine MPs who have also joined are Moresby North-East MP John Kaupa from the Social Democratic Party, Kundiawa-Gembogl MP William Onglo, Lagaip-Porgera MP Tomait Kapili and Anglimp South Waghi MP Joe Kuli all from the United Resources Party, Jimi MP Waka Goi, Kompiam MP John Pundari and Kerowagi MP Bari Palme and two Opposition also joining are South Fly MP James Donald and Wabag MP Dr Lino Tom.
Sir Peter welcomed the members and told them the party had always complied with the processes of the Organic Law, and had zero tolerance on corruption.
He said as a coalition partner, they would support Prime Minister James Marape and his Pangu Party.
“Today’s leaders need to make the change today and the new Government of Prime Minister James Marape is the government to set the pace for change for the future.”

Leave a Reply