Northern name side for trials

Normal, Sports

The National, Wednesday July 17th, 2013


THE Popondetta Rugby League has named a final 30-man squad to represent Northern in the Southern Regional Zone trials in Kwikila from July 29-Aug 2.

President Anko Vamage said the squad was made up of potential talents from the four clubs –M4 M Bulldogs, HOPPL Tigers, Medics and Cross Back Spiders.

Vamage said majority of these players would make their debuts, with the exception of former Snax Lae Tiger Russ Kaupa Jnr, and senior players Jacob Nul, Freddy Kuman, Michael Tul and Maika Wamp,. 

The other 27 players are Vincent Pale, Simon Siro, Paul Ian, Farapo Makura, Patrick Berapu, Stanley Koiva, John Oka, Tuli Keko, Tobby Kaprang, Humrhey Emimei, George Bungewa, Lucas Suto, Brian Gurisa, Jason Titipu, Tommy Isese, Nathan Arenadi, Sextus Orere,  Las Kopan, Justin Egimbari, Menson Gawo, Sammy Boroba, Michael Kopan, Joe Koiva, Frank Pale and Noah Saruwa.

The head coach is former Port Moresby Vipers halfback Norris Selu and his deputy is Amos Maino, trainer Ali Ofoi, general team manager Jeff Mea, Michael Teek and referee Kila Sibolo.                                                  

The Northern team is expected to travel out from Popondetta on July 27.