Vipers retain crown

Main Stories, Sports


PORT Moresby Vipers successfully defended the Masta Mak Cup after defeating Malpin Brothers 12-0 in the grand final yesterday in front of more than 4,000 spectators that packed the Hohola Ipi oval.
In the playoff for the Bowl, little known 5-Mile Rangers drew Souths Falcon 10-10 at regulation forcing the match into extra time.
However, the match remained unchanged and was awarded to Rangers using the golden point rule – in the instance that Rangers were the first to put points on the board.
In the Plate final, Boroko Phytons led by Butterflies representative players Stanley Torato, Enoch Yori, Sylvester Nuabo and former Magani halfback Leslie Omaro upset a second string Masta Mak Rangers 12-4.
A four-pointer by halfback Dickson Ani for Pythons got Rangers jumping up and down in the best part of the first half before center-cum-winger Ham Tee levelled the scores to bring the scoreline to 4-4 at half time.
In the second half, Pythons capitalised on Rangers’ dis-organised backline and forward to score two tries through Yori, who made a 90m dash from his own line to extend the lead to 10-4 before his teammate scored another to wrap up the match 14-4.
In the Cup finals, Vipers stamped their mark to beat Malapin Brothers of Hohola 12-0.
With four minutes remaining to fulltime, Brothers surrendered because of fading lights. They knew the game was already wrapped up by the Vipers.
Tries to Vipers’ Jessie Abani in the first half and Peter Paulus and Elijah Riyong on the other side of the break was enough for the Port Moresby franchise to win the Masta Mak Cup for the second year running.
In the Masta Mak Cup volleyball competition for men and women, Tatana Island dominated the proceedings winning the titles in both divisions.
In the men’s division, Tatana came on top of the clash of the two Motuan villages, Tatana and Poreporena in the grand final while Boroko Phytons settle for the third spot.
In the women’s final, Tatana once again proved their worth by disposing off former queens, Hohola Flies to win the title while Bomana Crushers finished third.
Meanwhile, a side was selected from the trials to challenge possible Masta Mak Rangers team in this weekend.
The players will meet at Hohola Oval to meet Billy Yaki and the Masta Mak Cup trials organisers for training this afternoon.
The side: Jerred Pua, Billy Johns, Graham Onepuglo (Mosquitoes), Ismael Lowa, Gilbert Torota (9-Mile), Opao Mathew, Tom Rarua, Iga Kial (Tatana), Dikana (Lealea), Starpath Amean, Nicko Dom, Stanley Pok (Gerehu Utd), Brian Gispe, Siba Bomai, Max Yakli, (Boroko Pythons), Toni Kili (Aroma Mix), Jacob Luwai, Peter Kolien (Mal Raiders) and Francis Yuna, Bernard Nala (3-Mile Crushers).