Kimbe claim women’s AFL title


HOSTS Kimbe beat Lae 4.7 (31) to 2.1 (13) in the final of the national Australia Football League championships to claim the women’s title in the West New Britain capital over the weekend.
Port Moresby finished third and Talasea fourth. Meanwhile, Port Moresby teams Laurabada and Mirigini proved a class above the rest in the men’s division.
But it was Laurabada who proved the better of the two to win 37-13 and claim major honours, the Digicel-sponsored Champions Cup.
Laurabada, made up mostly of Papua New Guinea Mosquitoes (national men’s AFL team), lived up to expectation, topping Pool A and making the final.
They beat Garua (Tamara), Rabaul, Lae and Kimbe Two. They forfeited Bialla for non-appearance on Friday due to cancellation of flights to Hoskins.
Development side Mirigini recorded impressive wins against Kove, Lolovulai and Kimbe One. Despite losing to Talasea they topped Pool B with a better percentage.
Talasea, made up Dockers players from the Port Moresby AFL competition, showed some flair to edge Mirigini.
Talasea finished third and Lae fourth with Laurabada topping the tournament and Mirigini finishing second.
Port Moresby-based West Eagles star Kila Rawali was by far the best man on field, winning marks and evading the defence to ensure victory for Laurabada.

Leave a Reply