Nomination Day

Main Stories

NOMINATIONS are finally expected to get underway today and at least six seats, where incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) had died in office, will see new faces.
The seats are Kerema, Middle Fly, Middle Ramu, Central Bougainville, Goilala and the most recent, Bulolo.
In addition, Papua New Guineans will also be electing MPs for eight new seats in General Election 2022 (GE22).
Electoral commissioner Simon Sinai told The National yesterday that nominations for the 22 provinces (governors) and 96 Members of Parliament (MPs) for GE22 would begin at 8am in the 118 centres nationwide.
“GE22 has officially started. The election writs had been issued by Governor-General Sir Bob Dadae last week but out of respect for the tragic and unexpected passing of Deputy Prime Minister Sam Basil, acceptance of nominations were delayed,” he added.
“We have dispatched the writs to all 22 provinces and the 96 electorates and returning officers (ROs) will start accepting nominations starting from 8am to 4pm tomorrow (today).
“Nominations will close at 4pm next Thursday (seven-day nomination period),” he added.
Sinai said polling would start on July 2 and end on July 22 with the Returning of Writs from July 23 to 29.
“Let me reassure our people that the various political parties and candidates, stakeholders and everyone else that the general election is on schedule to be delivered as per the requirements of the Constitution and the Organic Law on the conduct of GE22.
“I am confident that by working together, we will deliver a fair and just election result that our country expects and deserves,” he said.
Sinai said a general election was not just the business of the Electoral Commission.
“It is the police and everyone’s business. Papua New Guineans must behave and cooperate with the authorities to deliver a peaceful, free and fair GE22.
The eight incumbent MPs who died in office in the 10th Parliament (GE17) are Sam Basil (Bulolo May 2022), William Samb (Goilala March 2022), Sam Akoitai (Central Bougainville December 2021), Johnny Allonk (Middle Ramu November 2021), Roy Biyama (Middle Fly September 2021); Richard Mendani (Kerema March 2021), Moresby North West – Sir Mekere Morauta (Moresby North-West 2020) and Thomas Pelika (Menyama 2019).
Menyamya and Moresby North-West elected new MPs in by-elections.
The eight new electorates up for grabs are Delta Fly (Middle Fly), Hiri-Koiari (Kairuku-Hiri), Popondetta (Ijivitari), Nakanai (Talasea), Wau-Waria (Bulolo), Komo-Hulia (Komo-Margarima) and Porgera-Paiela (Laigap-Porgera).