NSBL tourney set

Normal, Sports

The National , Wednesday, June 1, 2011

THE National Souths Basketball League (NSBL) championships will be held in Madang on July 15-18.
National Souths Basketball League patron and Mendi MP Pastor Isaac Joseph said this during an executive meeting at the Shady Rest Hotel in Port Moresby yesterday.
He also said it was different from the Southern Highlands provincial basketball tournament.
He said four teams would be selected from the tournament to represent the province at the NSBL championships in Madang.
NSBL president Silas Nicky, who was pleased with the outcome of the meeting, said every Souths basketball team around PNG was set for the Madang tournament.
Nicky stressed that the rescheduling of the NSBL tournament was to give ample time for teams to prepare themselves.
He also said the organising committee had received overwhelming support from Madang community, especially the Madang Amateur Basketball Association whom they were working closely with to ensure logistics and other necessary requirements were in place to stage the event.
Nicky said the local organising committee was headed by Raymond Parangkei, Lawrence Sapaka, Chris Papiali and Willie Kavora.
The event will be held at the Laiwaden Oval. However, two other courts are situated within walking distance at the players’ convenience.
Nicky is confident that the local organising committee will be ready for the tournament in July.
He is also calling on intending teams to contact him on 7277 5478 or Parangkei 7308 1394 and 7666 9990.
The teams: Pesap Souths, Tente Souths, Kutubu Souths, Nipa Souths and Pangia Souths (Southern Highlands), Snax Souths, Welgris Souths, BNM Souths, Original Souths, Jiwaka Souths (Mt Hagen), Kerowagi Souths (Chimbu), Snax Souths and Henganofi (Eastern Highlands).
Lae will be making their first appearance at the tournament, hosts Madang will field two men and two women’s teams while Port Moresby will be represented by Ela Beach Souths and CBL Souths while Gerehu Souths have yet to confirm their participation.