NSL comp to start on Jan 6, meet confirms


A MEETING of National Soccer League managers in Port Moresby last Saturday confirmed that the 2018 season would start in Jan 6.
NSL held back on starting the competition due to the Christmas festive season which would affect the flow of the competition.
PNGFA senior vice-president John Wesley Gonjuan chaired the meeting and welcomed all clubs and representatives.
President David Chung said he wanted to see improvement in NSL organisation and franchise clubs must work in partnership with NSL, stakeholders and part owners of NSL franchise clubs for the sustainability of NSL clubs.
“Franchise clubs must work together with all stakeholders to improve quality on and off the pitch,” Chung said.
Twelve teams from as far as Manus and Milne Bay have shown interest to participate in the 2018 season.
Defending champions Lae City Dwellers, Madang and Besta are the three seasoned campaigners.
There is interest from Eastern Stars, which wants to make a re-entry into the competition, while FC Morobe Wawens is banking on their provincial government to foot the bill this season.
Other teams include the two soccer crazy provinces of Manus and Norrthern, along with Erema Gulf, Unitech, Central, Southern Strikers and a Chimbu franchise.
The NSL competition will play a pool system if there are eight teams and a round robin competition for six teams.
For the six-team competition, the league winner and runner up are to be determined after home and away round robin while for the eight-team competition, the league winner and runner up would be determined after semifinals between four teams (two top teams from each pool).
Other placing will be based on goals for and against points system.