Oceania officials get updates

Normal, Sports

The National, Monday 29th April 2013

 THE 2013 Oceania National Oly­mpic Committees (ONOC) General Assembly was held at the Sheraton Denarau Resort, in Fiji, on April 20.

Before the assembly, the Olympic Solidarity regional forum and workshop was held from April 17-19 to bring ONOC members and sports federations of Oceania up to date with the 2013-2016 Olympic Solidarity programmes.

Papua New Guinea was represented by PNG Sports Federation & Olympic Committee president, Sir John Dawanincura and secretary-general, Auvita Rapilla.

The forum heard presentations on progress of respective Games from the organising committees of the 2013 Wallis & Futuna Pacific Mini Games, 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games, 2016 Rio Olympic Games and 2015 Pacific Games presented by organising committee CEO, Peter Stewart.

Fiji’s Robin Mitchell was re-elected president for another four-year term. Barry Maister, IOC member in New Zealand and ONOC vice president, was re-elected too.

The merit awards went to Ken Tupua of American Samoa and Joe Carlo of Vanuatu.

Sir John spoke of his desire to focus on athletes being central to ONOC’s work. 

Ricardo Blas was elected ON­OC secretary-general for the next four years. The other newly-elected members of the executive for 2013 – 2016 are: Baklai Temengil – Palau NOC secretary-general; James Tobin – FSM NOC secretary general; Craig Phillips – Australian NOC secretary-general; Ken Tupua – American Samoa.