PNG in Group A for T20 qualifiers

Normal, Sports

The National,Thursday 22nd December 2011

PAPUA New Guinea has been drawn in Group A for the world Twenty20 cricket qualifiers to be held next year in the United Arab Emirates from March 13-24.
Their group opponents are Nepal, Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Netherlands, Canada, Bermuda and Denmark.
Group B comprises Ireland, Kenya, Scotland, Namibia, Uganda, Oman, Italy and the United States.
The top two from each section will meet in the Super Four stage.
A total of 17 matches will be played over five days with Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed cricket stadium hosting six group stage matches and Dubai’s international cricket stadium staging 11 games, including six group stage matches, four Super Four matches and the final.
Ireland are the top seeds, with the Dutch ranked number two.
The top two teams from the tournament will qualify the world Twenty20 championship in Sri Lanka from Sept 18 to Oct 7.