Snooker titles set for Sept


THE 2018 BSP National Snooker Titles will be from September 4-16, 2018 in Port Moresby.
Papua New Guinea Billiards and Snooker Association (PNGBSA) acting-president John Chan said the PNG Women’s National Snooker Titles would be run at the same time.
“The women’s national snooker titles which is normally held on their own around May/June replaces the men’s ‘minor’ national titles as a forerunner to the men’s major national titles which is held annually coinciding with Independence,” Chan said.
“We have done away with the men’s ‘minor’ national titles and included the women’s national titles with the men’s to make it a national snooker titles event for both men and women.”
He said the women’s titles would cue off on Sept 4 (Tuesday) ending with the final on Sept 9 (Sunday) while the men’s national titles cue off on Sept 11 (Tues) with the final on Sept 16 (Sun).
Chan said nominations were open with registration fees set at K150 for the women and K200 for the men.
“The women’s nominations and registration close a week earlier on August 28 while the men’s close on Sept 4,” Chan said.
He added junior players under 18 years would pay K100. A briefing for the women and draws would be held on Sept 3 (Mon) and the men’s the following week on Sept 10 at the Lamana Q Club.
Chan said 32 players were expected to take part in the women’s titles while the men’s titles could attract up to 40 players.
“Ranked players will be given preference but those wishing to compete can nominate and pay their fees and may take part in the event if ranked players do not register or spaces available.”
Chan said the sponsorship announcement including the women’s in the 2018 national snooker titles would be made soon. Games would be played at the Aviat Club, Q Club at Lamana Hotel and Laguna Hotel.
He said companies wishing to support or sponsor the event could contact Joey Chan at the Q Club.
“This is going to be a huge occasion with the women’s national titles for the first time to be held prior to the men’s titles to celebrate independence,” Chan said
Meanwhile, Chan said only two associations — Port Moresby and Alotau — were affiliated to the PNGBSA.
“This means that only players from these two associations are eligible to take part in the national snooker titles,” Chan said.

Leave a Reply