Ellison to debut as Hunter No.83 against Tigers


MENDI Muruks’ Roy Ellison will become Hunter No.83 when he runs on as a winger in Saturday’s Intrust Super Cup round-18 ‘Country Week’ clash with the Easts Tigers in Wabag, Enga.
Brendon Gotuno has been named on the other wing in place of Junior Rau. Paul Wawa moves into the centres.
Justin Yoka starts at halfback while Baundo Aba comes into lock. Stanton Albert has been named at prop with Enock Maki moving to the extended interchange bench with Sailas Gahuna, who returns to the side after representing PNG in the men’s rugby League nines at the Pacific Games in Samoa.
Woods Kawage will wear the No.9 jersey in front of his home crowd.
The 20-man squad leave for Wabag this morning. Between 9am to 11am tomorrow, the squad will be divided into four groups and will visit Irelia and Wabag primary schools, Wabag General Hospital and participate at a sponsors’ event in Mt Hagen as part of ‘Country Week’ requirements. At 3pm, they will conduct coaching clinics at Aipus Oval.
On Friday, the team will conduct a referees’ clinic at Aipus Oval.
The captain’s run will be held at Aipus Oval at 3pm.
Coach Michael Marum will finalise his 17-man team an hour before kick-off at 2pm.
Under-14 boys and an U18 girls National Schools Rugby League games will be played as curtain raisers to the main game.
Meanwhile, the Easts Tigers arrive in Port Moresby at 12.30pm on Friday. They travel to Wabag on a chartered aircraft at 2pm.
The Tigers will have their captain’s run at 4pm at Aipus Oval on arrival in Wabag.
The match will be televised ‘live’ on TV Wan Plus.
The teams return to Port Moresby on Sunday, with the Tigers heading back to Brisbane at 3pm.
Hunters: 1. Terry Wapi, 2. Brendon Gotuno, 3. Brendon Nima, 4. Paul Wawa, 5. Roy Ellison, 6. Ase Boas, 7. Justin Yoka, 8. Moses Meninga (captain), 9. Woods Kawage, 10. Stanton Albert, 11. McKenzie Yei, 12. Epel Kapinias, 13. Baundo Aba; Interchange – 14. Nick Hasu, 15. Sailas Gahuna, 16. Dilbert Isaac, 17. Enock Maki, 18. Gairo Kapana, 19. Butler Morris, 20. Adex Wera (three to be omitted).