League to adopt split format

The National,Friday July 1st, 2016

THE Port Moresby Rugby League has introduced a split round in its competition due to the Under-20 Fifa Under-20 Women’s World Cup to be staged in Port Moresby in November.
League chairman Dr James Naipao said due to the event, it was proper that the competition ended in September and not beyond October to allow preparations for the Fifa U20 Women’s World Cup.
Naipao said the National Football Stadium and other venues such as the Sir John Guise Stadium, Sir Hubert Murray Stadium and Bisini Sports Oval would be used for the event.
He said that the split rounds in two pools of seven teams each were drawn on Monday night by 11 club delegates and endorsed with the final draws.
“This is only for the A grade and the U20 division, as the women’s competition with 10 teams should be completed before the men’s.”
In pool A are Butterflies, Brothers, Royals, Tarangau, Defence, Dobo Warriors, and Hohola.
Pool B comprises Paga, West, Souths, Kone Tigers, Kone Storm, Hawks and Magani.
PRL deputy chairman Wari Varage said two teams would be on bye every weekend.
He said teams who failed to attend or lost their matches on forfeit would be penalised, with their future next season in doubt.
The PRL delegates meeting will be on Monday at 6pm at the NFS.
Today in pool A, Butterflies take on Hohola Flies while the Panthers will meet Magani tomorrow.   In the curtainraiser to the Digicel Cup match between Port Moresby Vipers and Gulf Isapea on Sunday, competition leaders Hawks will take on Bige West.