Marape to make changes to Cabinet

Main Stories

PRIME Minister James Marape is expected to make changes to Cabinet, according to a reliable source.
The move is to accommodate the defection of MPs from the Opposition to his coalition government, starting with Ian Ling-Stuckey, Allan Bird and Gary Juffa in August.
They were followed by Sir Mekere Morauta and later National Alliance Party leader Patrick Pruaitch and other party members.
In total 19 MPs crossed the floor to join the Government. The source told The National yesterday that Marape should have announced the changes yesterday.
But Government House was busy with an investiture ceremony.
The swearing in for new ministers is expected today.
It is expected that the National Alliance will be allocated two portfolios with Pruaitch to be allocated one.
The People’s National Congress led by Peter O’Neill which is part of the coalition has seven ministers.
They are Soroi Eoe (Foreign Affairs), Alfred Manase (Labour and Industrial Relation), Justin Tkatchenko (Housing), Elias Kapavore (Health), Westly Nukundj (Public Service), Nick Kuman (Higher Education Research Science and Technology), Petrus Thomas (Immigration and Border Protection) and Michael Nali (Works).
Coalition partner the United Resource Party has none at the moment.
Marape said earlier it was hard to accommodate everyone in Cabinet.


Comments are closed.